Angkita Dutta Harassment Case: Gauhati HC Rejects Bail Plea Of Indian Youth Congress

The Gauhati High Court has recently rejected the anticipatory bail plea of Indian Youth Congress (IYC) president Srinivas B.V. in relation with the allegations of harassment leveled by Angkita Dutta.

Another appeal was made by the Congress leader to dismiss the complaint lodged by the former Assam Youth Congress president Angkita Dutta was also rejected by the court.

As a result of this, Srinivas may face an arrest which he was supposed to appear before the Assam Police.
However, he sought an adjunction as his plea before the Gauhati High Court was pending.

As per the police sources, Srinivas might be asked to come to Dispur police station within a day or two. In her complaint, Dutta asserted that Srinivas had been persistently harassing & torturing her for the last 6 months by creating sexist comments, using slang words, and also threatening her of awful consequences if she keeps complaining against him to the senior party office bearers.

On April 19, the complaint was lodged at the Dispur police station. Further, she stated that in her complaint the accused harassed her, grabbed her arm, shoved her, used vulgar terms, and threatened to damage her career in the party if she tried to report about him during the most recent party plenary meeting in Raipur district.

Therefore, in accordance with the IT Act & various IPC sections pertaining to harassment of women, the police filed an FIR. The Criminal Investigation Department (CID) of Assam Police went to Srinivas’ residence in Bengaluru where he served a notice to appear in person before Guwahati police.

Also, in the notice, Srinivas was asked not to tamper with the evidence in the case and to not make any threat, inducement or promise to any person familiar with the facts of the case.

The police notice further mentioned that, “Failure to attend/comply with the terms of this notice can render you liable for arrest under section 41A (3) and (4) of CrPC.”

Recommended For You

About the Author: Meera Verma