Delhi Liquor Scam: Sanjay Singh Walk Out of Jail Says, ‘Moment are for Perseverance not Jubilation’

Sanjay Singh

In the aftermath of being granted bail by the Supreme Court in the Delhi excise policy case, Aam Aadmi Party Leader and Rajya Sabah MP Sanjay Singh, walked out of Tihar jail on Wednesday Evening. He Asserted before party workers that these moment are for perseverance rather than jubilation. A throng of party supporters gathered to welcome him.

Having been confined in the high-security prison since October 13, 2023, Singh exited through gate number three, with authorities confirming his release following the completion of bail formalities.

A sizable contingent of AAP sympathizers congregated outside the prison, chanting slogans like “dekho dekho kaun aaya, sher aaya, sher aaya” (look who has arrived, the lion has come) and “Sanjay Singh zindabad” (Long live Sanjay Singh). Amidst this fervor, the Rajya Sabha member was adorned with garlands as AAP activists continued their chants.

Among the well-wishers were Delhi cabinet minister Saurabh Bharadwaj and AAP MLA Durgesh Pathak, who stood in solidarity outside the jail.

Security measures were notably stringent in anticipation of Singh’s release, with supporters clamoring to greet him as he stood atop his vehicle.

“This is a time of perseverance. Long live Arvind Kejriwal. Our incarcerated leaders will also soon regain their freedom. This is not a moment for festivities but a moment for struggle. The locks of the jail will break, and all our leaders will be liberated,” Singh proclaimed amidst the crowd.

Following his departure from Tihar, Singh headed to Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal’s residence to reunite with his wife, Sunita.

Earlier in the day, Singh had been admitted to the ILBS Hospital in Vasant Kunj. After being discharged around 1:30 pm, he returned to Tihar jail to fulfill the requisite bail procedures.

News of his bail reached him while he was undergoing a routine checkup at ILBS the day before. Anita Singh, his wife, conveyed that they would not celebrate his release until other AAP leaders, including Kejriwal, former deputy chief minister Manish Sisodia, and former minister Satyendar Jain, were also free.

Recommended For You

About the Author: Nunnem Gangte