2020 NE Delhi Riots: Karkardooma Court Discharges 11 Accused

2020 NE Delhi Riots

Eleven accused of rioting, burning shops, and vehicles during the February 2020 riots in the Dayal Pur area of northeast Delhi have been discharged by Delhi’s Karkardooma Court due to insufficient evidence. Additional Sessions Judge (ASJ) Pulastya Pramachala discharged the accused, including Ajmat Ali, Shadab Alam, Naved, Mohd Shahid, Mohd Sakir, Nadeem, Mohd Sohail alias Soel, Sultan Ahmed, Wazid, Suleman, and Mohd Faeem, of charges including criminal conspiracy.

The court stated that there was no specific evidence establishing a criminal conspiracy among the accused. ASJ Pramachala emphasized that the evidence presented did not indicate any prior agreement among the accused or others. The court found no substantial basis to suspect the involvement of the accused in the incidents being prosecuted in the case.

Furthermore, the court noted that the video evidence relied upon by the prosecution did not link Suleman and Mohd Faeem to the alleged incidents. The court highlighted that a general presence in a mob at a different location and time was insufficient to prosecute an accused for a specific incident.

The charges stemmed from an incident on February 23, 2020, when a mob from two different communities clashed near Sherpur Chowk in Dayalpur, raising slogans both for and against the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA). Despite police intervention, the situation escalated into stone-pelting and the burning of vehicles and shops, including ‘Punjab Chicken’ in Chandu Nagar.

Delhi police filed multiple charge sheets against the accused for various offenses under the Indian Penal Code and the Prevention of Damage to Public Property Act. However, the court found the evidence lacking and discharged the accused due to insufficient proof of their involvement in the alleged crimes.

Recommended For You

About the Author: Ashish Sinha

-Ashish Kumar Sinha -Editor Legally Speaking -Ram Nath Goenka awardee - 14 Years of Experience in Media - Covering Courts Since 2008