Rampur Court Convicts Ex-BJP MLA Kashiram Diwakar in Sugar Mill Vandalism Case

A special court in Rampur (Uttar Pradesh) has convicted six people, including former BJP MLA Kashiram Diwakar, accused of breaking into and vandalising a sugar mill in Shahabad.

Special MP/MLA court judge Vijay Kumar convicted Diwakar and five others, including Krishnapal, Bharat, Sanju Yadav, Meghraj, and Suresh Gupta.

The court will pronounce the quantum of punishment on 20th June.

According to district government advocate Seema Rana, Shahabad-based Rana Sugar Mill president Omveer Singh filed a case in 2012 alleging that some people led by Diwakar entered the mill and vandalized it after a dispute over taking a tractor trolley off the premises.

The mob also assaulted and injured several workers.
Rana further stated that a case had been filed against 38 named accused, including Diwakar, as well as 200 unknown people.

Read More: Supreme CourtDelhi High CourtStates High CourtOther Courts, International

Recommended For You

About the Author: Nunnem Gangte