SC Collegium Six Names for Kerala High Court Judges

Collegium SC

The Supreme Court Collegium, led by Chief Justice D Y Chandrachud, has recommended six advocates for judgeship in the Kerala High Court. Alongside, it has proposed the appointment of Mohammad Yousuf Wani, a judicial officer, as an additional judge for the High Court of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh.

The Collegium’s recommendation includes Abdul Hakhim Mullappally Abdul Aziz, Syam Kumar Vadakke Mudavakkat, Harisankar Vijayan Menon, Manu Sreedharan Nair, Easwaran Subramani, and Manoj Pulamby Madhavan as judges for the Kerala High Court, with their seniority determined by existing practices.

Addressing concerns raised about one candidate’s professional competence, the Collegium pointed out the candidate’s significant experience, with 50 reported judgments from the high court. It emphasized the importance of the high court’s assessment of the candidate’s competence and suitability.

Regarding political affiliations, the Collegium dismissed vague assertions, stating that past political involvement should not automatically disqualify a candidate. It cited precedent, where an advocate with prior political ties was appointed as a judge.

Furthermore, the Collegium recommended the appointment of five additional judges from the Allahabad High Court and eleven additional judges from the Bombay High Court as permanent judges in their respective courts.

Recommended For You

About the Author: Ashish Sinha

-Ashish Kumar Sinha -Editor Legally Speaking -Ram Nath Goenka awardee - 14 Years of Experience in Media - Covering Courts Since 2008